Regan Named NE-10 Rookie of the Week

Hanson, Mass., native honored for second time after All-Region performance 

EASTON, Mass. (November 24, 2010) – Stonehill College freshman Emily Regan (Hanson, Mass./Whitman-Hanson) has been named the Northeast-10 Conference Rookie of the Week by the league office.

Regan earns the weekly award for the second time this season after helping lead Stonehill to its second-straight NCAA Division II East Regional title and 12th-straight trip to the NCAA Championships with her eighth place finish on Sunday in her debut at the East Regional. She completed the six-kilometer course in 23:07 to join a group of five Skyhawks to post All-Region performances on Sunday.

Regan, who also earned NE-10 Rookie of the Week honors on October 12 after her strong performance at the New England Championships, has competed in six of Stonehill's seven meets so far this season. She earned third team All-Northeast-10 Conference honors with her 19th-place finish at the NE-10 Championships on November 7, completing the five-kilometer course in 19:16.3, to go with her All-Region performance this past weekend.

Regan placed fourth in her collegiate debut at the Trinity Bantams Invitational in early September with a time of 16:39 over four-kilometers. Regan was 22nd at the Quinnipiac Invitational the next week with a time of 19:44 over 5K, before placing 82nd (out of 387) with a 6K time of 23:28 in the "Brown Race" of the Brooks-Lehigh-Paul Short Invitational. She placed 126th overall (out of 322 runners) with her time of 19:32 over 5K at the New England Championships – good for sixth among Division II runners and the first DII freshman to cross the finish line.

Both the Stonehill women, ranked 25th in this week's U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Division II poll, and the men, ranked 21st, have qualified for the NCAA Division II Championships which will be held at E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky., as part of the NCAA Division II Fall Championships Festival hosted by Bellermine University. The men's championship will start on December 4 at 11 a.m., with the women's championship to follow at noon.