Stonehill Ice Hockey Earns NE-10 Sportsmanship Award

Senior Peter Roundy captained the Skyhawks to a third-straight NE-10 Sportsmanship Award. (PHOTO BY Richard Orr.)

Stonehill Ice Hockey Earns NE-10 Sportsmanship Award

Program recognized for third-straight year, earning College's tenth award overall

NE-10 Sportsmanship Award Winners 

EASTON, Mass. (April 30, 2010) – The Stonehill College ice hockey team has earned the Northeast-10 Conference's Sportsmanship Award for its sport for the third-straight year, the league office announced today.

The ice hockey team's three-straight awards leads the way for Stonehill which has won ten team sportsmanship awards overall in the award program's four-year existence, including the football honor this past fall for the first time. The College has also earned awards in men's soccer (2007 & 2008), women's outdoor track & field (2007 & 2008), women's indoor track & field (2008-09) and men's tennis (2009). Stonehill received the David R. Brunk Award honoring institutional sportsmanship for 2007-08.

The awards program, which honors one team from each of the conference's 23 championship sports that has exemplified the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducted themselves with a higher degree of integrity, character and class. The awards are decided upon by a vote of each of the conference team's head coach, team captain and Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) representative in their respective sports.

Stonehill, under the direction of third-year head coach Garry Hebert, finished its season with a 10-16-1 record overall, 2-9-0 in NE-10 play. The Skyhawks, who set a program record with three shutouts during the season and finished above .500 entering its annual mid-year break for the first time in program history, advanced to the NE-10 Tournament semifinals for the fifth-straight season. Senior captain Peter Roundy (Simsbury, Conn./Kimball Union Academy) earned All-Northeast-10 Conference honors and freshmen Christopher Gorovitz (Framingham, Mass./Framingham) and Dana Borges (Taunton, Mass./Coyle & Cassidy) both were named to the NE-10's All-Rookie team.