NE-10 CHAMPIONSHIP: Stonehill Captures Fourth NE-10 Championship!

Photo Courtesy NE-10

No. 2-seeded Skyhawks ride doubles sweep to 5-2 win over top-seed Southern N.H.
Frost a double-winner to lead Skyhawks to title, named Championship MVP
Lawrence and Martin also earn All-Championship Team honors

Seniors Paige Frost and Chelsea Haedrich accept the NE-10 Championship trophy. (Photo courtesy NE-10)

MANCHESTER, N.H. (April 20, 2013) – Second-seeded Stonehill College, ranked seventh in this week's NCAA Division II East Regional rankings and sixth in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) East Region rankings, claimed its fourth Northeast-10 Conference Tournament Championship with a 5-2 triumph over top-seeded and three-time defending champions Southern New Hampshire University, ranked sixth in the NCAA East Regional rankings and seventh in the ITA regional rankings, at SNHU Tennis Courts this afternoon.

Stonehill (20-3, 11-1 NE-10) wins its fourth NE-10 postseason championship in program history and first since 2009 before Southern New Hampshire (16-8, 12-0 NE-10) reeled off the next three titles leading up to the Skyhawks win today. The championship is Stonehill's second, with 2009, under the current dual match format to go with a pair of titles under the old flighted points system in 1991 and '92. Stonehill, which earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Division II Tournament, has reached the 20-win plateau for the second time in program history and are just a win shy of the program record of 21 (21-4) set by the 2008-09 team that went on to reach the NCAA Championships.

Senior captain Paige Frost led the Skyhawks as a double-winner and was named Championship MVP.

Senior Paige Frost (Brigantine, N.J./Holy Spirit) was a double-winner to lead Stonehill to the title and was named MVP of the NE-10 Championships. She and freshman Kirsti Toegemann (Narragansett, R.I./The Lincoln School), the ninth-ranked doubles team in the ITA East Regional rankings, combined for an 8-5 triumph at No. 1 doubles over SNHU senior Alena Mukdaprakorn (Hartford, Conn./Kingswood Oxford) and sophomore Diana Vamvakitis (Wading River, N.Y./Westhampton Beach), the No. 22-ranked doubles team in Division II, also ranked second in the East Region.

Frost went on to put Stonehill up 4-0 early in singles play with her 6-2, 6-2 victory at No. 4 singles over junior Kirsten Jean (Bedford, N.H./Bedford). Junior Kaitlyn Martin (Medway, Mass./Medway) and sophomore Meryl Lawrence (North Scituate, R.I./Mount Saint Charles Academy) joined Frost on the NE-10 All-Championship team. Lawrence clinched the championship with a 6-3, 6-4 victory at No. 3 singles over senior Amanda Albuquerque (Weymouth, Mass./Weymouth). Martin, who clinched Thursday's semifinal round win over Saint Michael's College, teamed up with senior Chelsea Haedrich (Islip, N.Y./Islip) for an 8-4 win at No. 2 doubles against Albuquerque and freshman Yolanda Green (Springfield, Mass./Longmeadow).

Freshmen Bailey Paradiso (Birmingham, Mich./Marian) and Analise Kump (Falmouth, Maine/Falmouth) clinched Stonehill's sweep of the three doubles matches by grinding out a 9-7 decision over Jean and sophomore Jamie Hann (Westhampton, N.Y./Westhampton Beach) at No. 3.

Mukdaprakorn and Vamvakitis were both named to the All-Championship team for Southern New Hampshire and accounted for both of the Penmen's points on Saturday. Mukdaprakorn, ranked sixth in the region, topped 19th-ranked Paradiso 6-4, 6-1 at No. 1 singles, while Vamvakitis defeated Toegemann at No. 2 singles, 6-4, 6-0 to put SNHU on the board.

For the latest on Stonehill Athletics, follow the Skyhawks via social media on Twitter and Facebook. Fans can also download the Stonehill Skyhawks mobile app on iTunes and the Android Market.

Stonehill 5, Southern New Hampshire 2


Junior Kaitlyn Martin, Senior Paige Frost and sophomore Meryl Lawrence earned All-Championship Team honors. Frost was also named MVP. (Photo courtesy NE-10)

1. Alena Mukdaprakorn (SNH) def. Bailey Paradiso (STO) 6-4, 6-1

2. Diana Vamvakitis (SNH) def. Kirsti Toegemann (STO) 6-4, 6-0

3. Meryl Lawrence (STO) def. Amanda Albuquerque (SNH) 6-3, 6-4

4. Paige Frost (STO) def. Kirsten Jean (SNH) 6-2, 6-2

5. Jamie Hann (SNH) vs. Kaitlyn Martin (STO) 3-4, unfinished

6. Yolanda Green (SNH) vs. Analise Kump (STO) 3-4, unfinished


1. Frost/Toegemann (STO) def. #22 Mukdaprakorn/Vamvakitis (SNH) 8-5

2. Martin/Chelsea Haedrich (STO) def. Albuquerque/Green (SNH) 8-4

3. Kump/Paradiso (STO) def. Hann/Jean (SNH) 9-7

 * - doubles matches played first

Coe Edges Stonehill, 5-4
March 4, 2013 Coe Edges Stonehill, 5-4
Stonehill Blanks Post, 9-0
September 27, 2012 Stonehill Blanks Post, 9-0